Maximum Penalty
You need to upgrade your Flash Player


  • Vocals: Jimmy Williams
  • Guitar: Joe Affe
  • Guitar:
  • Bass:
  • Drums: Darren Morgenthaler


Demo '89 & East Side Story


  • Uncle Sham

    Maximum Penalty

    Uncle Sham


Maximum Penalty rocks. Period. No question. With influences from Hip-hop, Metal, and even Jazz fused with their love of New York Hardcore, Maximum Penalty always stood out amongst their contemporaries.
Formed by singer Jim Williams amidst the intensely creative mid-80’s New York Hardcore scene. While drumming for the band “Sarcasm”, bandmates took notice of the strength of Jim’s background vocals and encouraged him to front a band. Thus Maximum Penalty was born. From 1986-1989, the band recorded three demos which were sold at local record shops and at shows. Astor records later released the 1989 demo on vinyl.
The band’s first commercial release was 1994’s “East Side Story” EP on Too Damn Hype. A year later, they recorded their first full length, “Independent” (IDT Records). In 1996 “Superlife” was released on Gypsy Records (a division of industry legend Walter Yentikoff’s Velvel Records).
Following the release of Superlife, Hardcore veteran Rich McLoughlin joined the band. McLoughlin had been an original member of Breakdown and Killing Time.
After extensive tours of the US and Europe, the band began writing their third album, the release on I Scream Records. Williams and McLoughlin sought to push the band forward and explore new possibilities for Hardcore. Now in 2006 I Scream Records proudly brings two classics back to the scene with this amazing release. Old school hardcore in a new package. With all the original members back together again this is a great warm up for an all new studio album due in 2006. Maximum penalty has always taken risks and the band continues to do so, while remaining true to their identity as a New York Hardcore band.